Happy Birthday Buddy!

Last night I put my kids to bed and spent a little extra time with Danny.  My baby boy was about to turn 6.  I wanted to hug him a little tighter, make him laugh a little harder and also have a serious talk with him.

I wanted to tell him that I was proud of him, proud of how kind and thoughtful he was.  I wanted him to know that I loved him more than he knew and that he had a great laugh.  I wanted him to know that I thought he was super smart and super funny.

But, like a true six year old, he was far more interested in trying to stick his fingers in my nose than hearing how much I loved him.  What can I say?  He’s weird.

But I do love him and I thank my two angels up in heaven for watching out for my baby on the day of his birth, so that 6 years later, I could be annoyed by him trying to pick my nose.

Love you lots, kid!  Hope you have a fabulous birthday weekend (and that my Pinterest-inspired party isn’t a complete disaster)!

Leave a Reply

