Movie, muffin meal and mayhem!

This morning I started to think about dinner.  I had ground sirloin and a broken promise being pointed out to me.  My son reminded me that I had promised to make banana muffins for breakfast.  Since I slept until 10am (after a late night at the US Open) and the kids had already eaten, the breakfast ship had sailed.

So I decided dinner would be made in muffin tins!  I thought it was a strange idea, but as I googled for recipes, I learned that Muffin Tin Mondays was something of a blogging phenomenon.  Since my idea was no longer original, I thought I would beat it with alliteration (you know how I feel about alliteration).  I spent literally minutes wracking my brain for M words that I could use to write this entire blog post.  I was going to consult a thesaurus.  Then I thought, “meh!”  The title was enough.  So my laziness has saved you from reading an entire blog post composed of M words.

At any rate, I thought I would use the M theme to help Danny learn more about his letters in preparation for kindergarten in a day and a half!  As I talked to him about what we would do tonight – eat meatloaf, mac and cheese and muffins, drink milk and watch a movie, Matilda – I asked him what letter all these things started with.  He proceeded to name every letter in the alphabet (other than M of course) and some words, e.g., they all start with Samantha!

When I told him to be serious, because people were watching, for God’s sake, he came out with this gem – I am not a player!  I’m a laugher and joker.  I decided to leave well enough alone and not ask for clarification.

Our muffin meal consisted of meatloaf, mini mac and cheese pies and munchies (which were carrots in a muffin tin).  I know, that’s kinda cheating, but I couldn’t think of a veggie or fruit that both started with an M and was something the kids would consider edible.  And then we made the promised banana muffins.

The kids pitched and got their hands dirty and the kitchen too, which pleased the dog, because she took it upon herself to make sure the floor was clean.

When I tried to take this picture, I had to fight the kids, because they kept sneaking in and stealing carrots. 

I said “Can’t you wait?” and Danny said “yeah, we like carrots so much, we can’t wait for dessert!”  Again, I ask, “Carrots?  Dessert?  Whose kids are these and what planet are they from?” but I digress or meander (there’s an M word for you!)

Then we sat down to watch Matilda, and I soon realized that their mother is a moron.  Matilda might possibly be the worst movie you could show a kid who is terrified of his first day of school.  (Maybe Toy Soldiers would have been worse.  No one got shot in the chest in this one, but still).  So we quickly changed the movie before any of the children ended up in the “chokey” and went through a series of seemingly child-friendly netflix offerings before settling on a Turtle’s Tale, which did not start with an M but did use alliteration so I shall call it a win.  And after our initial failings, I referenced commonsensemedia.org to ensure that there was nothing remotely offensive in this movie, other than Kathy Griffin’s voice, of course.

As an alliterative aside, earlier today Danny said he and Samantha were pretending to punch each other’s penises.  I was so proud of his alliteration that I didn’t bother telling him (again) that Samantha was sans penis.

I vaguely remember this blog post was meant to have a point that I somehow lost, but oh well, that ship has also sailed.  So in summary, we loved our muffin meal and I love alliteration!  Now I just need to decide if I am gong to finish off mostly M night with a milkshake, a malbec or a margarita minus the mix.

Leave a Reply

