A CPSI Resolution

I spent this week at CPSI in Atlanta.  As it says on its website “The Creative Problem Solving Institute is like no other conference.  It is a hands-on learning experience that allows you to think differently…”  And I agree.

Never before I have been in a room with so many creative thinkers from so many walks of life.  Never before have I Sufi danced (not sure that shall happen again, but we will see).  Never before have I sat around with a bunch of adults and made puppets out of paper bags, created towers out of sheets of paper, communicated without talking to decide what sound should represent a color or pretended to be a rabid squirrel.

But that is CPSI.

I went for work and I think I got a lot of professionally applicable tips and ideas for new techniques.

However, I think I got more out of it on a personal level.  I can’t say for sure whether it was the conference or just the act of escaping from my normal life, and having some time to myself.  Nonetheless, I am happy I went.

I worked on my book more in those three days than I have in the past 6 months.  I am actually excited about it again.

I talked to lots of interesting people and I even danced.

And I worked on a creative problem with a room full of strangers – how to better manage my personal time.  With everyone’s help, I realized it wasn’t so much an issue of time, as much as my attitude.  I needed more time for myself in my daily life, so that I could feel happier and more fulfilled.  I suspect that will result in better relationships with my kids and my husband.  And when I am happier, I have more energy, which should help with my laundry piles and my dirty dishes, etc.

With that in mind, I have decided to give myself 30 minutes of purposeful “me time” everyday.  It doesn’t have to be productive, but it has to be a decision, not me falling on the couch staring at the TV at the end of the day, when I am too tired to think, never mind enjoy the time.

I tried to wake up early this morning for my “me time”, but I was too tired to wake up early.  0 for 1.  Perhaps, tonight or tomorrow will work out better.  I will keep you posted on my progress.

One response

  1. You said “I” almost 30 times in that post….. a tad self oriented …aren’t we… 😛
    Self improvement “camps” are phenomenal, my issue was making changes that “stick”.
    Hopefully you have better will power than me.

Leave a Reply

