Picture Day at School

Today was picture day at my kids’ school, conveniently scheduled for after Danny’s surgery.  But we didn’t like the fall pictures that were taken, so we needed to be there for these.

I am a planner, so I called the school yesterday to see when his class would be photographed.  They said they were starting with the 2 year olds (my daughter’s class), which I thought was great because maybe Sam could get photographed before she ripped out her pigtails, and it gave me extra time in the morning.

Danny is not sleeping all that well and tends to sleep a little later in the morning.  He kept my husband up for 2 hours last night while he dreamt about Super Mario Brothers, finding fire power, avoiding the Koopahs, etc.

So I had another mom pick up Samantha and then my mother in law came over, so after I get Danny settled, I could shower, put on clothes, brush my teeth, etc.

But while I was helping Sam into the other mom’s car, the school called.  Danny’s class was first.  So much for plans.

He was barely awake and I had not gotten to the “making myself human” portion of my day, but there was no time for that.  I had to get the boy dressed and out of the house.  Of course, he didn’t like the green shirt I had carefully chosen the day before, the one that brings out the green highlights in his eyes.  He wanted all blue clothes to match the casts.  Cue the mad dash to find clothes that were both clean and blue.  Done but he was somewhat mismatched.

Was there time for me to dress?  Nope.  I threw on a huge sweater to hide my bralessness and made an effort to not be a close-talker, because I brush my teeth after my shower.

But all the rushing was totally worth it.  The kids were so happy to see him and he was positively glowing from all the attention.  And he got another caterpillar that we can watch transform into a butterfly.  Last year I was terrified that we would kill the thing but this year I am grateful for the distraction.  As soon as he got home he threw himself on the floor and started building a castle for the little guy.

Tonight, we get to go to kindergarten orientation for the boy.  I can’t believe my baby is about to start kindergarten.

Eventually, my posts will go back to having a point, I promise.

One response

Leave a Reply

