On the road again

Whenever I tell someone how much traveling my job entails, they inevitably ask “Isn’t that hard with the kids?”  I always reply “yes”, but the truth is I miss it.  We’ve worked and traveled non-stop between December 2010 and early December 2011, so the last two months of staying home were a welcome break, but I am literally itching to get back on the road again.

I am not going to tell you that traveling for business is glamorous.  It’s not, but since I had kids, my list of requirements for a good trip have shrunk. Hotel has a TV – check. Kids aren’t there to wake me up, eat my food and insist I watch cartoons? Check. I can have complete silence if I so choose? Check.

Good trip. That’s all it takes.

I want to get back out there for a number of reasons:

  • The above mentioned silence.
  • The ability to use my free time as I wish, finally starting rewrites on my book.  The airport waiting time and the plane rides are especially productive, because I am literally trapped.
  • Just focusing on one thing at a time.  I am sure many of you moms out there can relate.  Normally, I have a minimum of 2-3 things on my mind at a time, more if I am working from home.  I have one hand on the keyboard, one hand catching falling sippy cups, a kid on each shoulder, one eye on my work and one on the clock so I don’t miss lunchtime or an important call.  On the road, it’s just me and the work.
  • And finally, I do really love my work.  There is nothing like learning about someone completely new and how they think and what is most important to them.  It’s a short-term connection, but a very real one and in my work, I get to make many such connections in an average 12-13 hour day.  These days are long but energizing.  And there is little better than seeing the finished product on the shelf or reading about it in the paper.

My travels this coming week have the added bonus of taking me to visit one of my dearest and oldest friends and her family.  So I can focus on her and her kids instead of my own!

Don’t get me wrong, by Wednesday or Thursday, I will be itching to get back home, but for now, I am looking forward to the traveling and the room service!

Leave a Reply

