Christmas Recap

So I was going to call this a holiday recap, but really, what is there to say about Thanksgiving?  We cooked, we ate.  Done.  So onto Christmas.

Last night was our friend Christmas celebration, which signals the end of the holiday season for me, because I am too old and tired to stay up until midnight tonight.

I learned/observed several things this season:

  1. Writing in lists makes me happy, because it doesn’t require transitions.  PowerPoint has killed my ability to write transitions.  If only my book could be written in bullet points, I would be all set.
  2. We have too many friends/family members.  I need a bigger kitchen to cook for them, a bigger table to seat them and a bigger house to store all the crap they buy my children.  But life does not suck.
  3. Walking in the city is far harder for those whose legs are 3 feet long.
  4. The tree at Rockefeller Center is far less impressive than you remember.  My son said “Wow.  Can we go to the toy store now?”
  5. I have to interrupt this list for an important news update from the boy –  “Do you know that you have to say butt to say butt-erfly?”
  6. Ice skating is not like riding a bike.  You forget how to do it.  Take my word for it.
  7. Feeling obligated to bake cookies stresses me out.
  8. My daughter is just a little bit bitchy.  She can talk just fine, especially if you buy her things, like “Lalaloopsy dolls”, which she can pronounce more clearly than her own name, which she still refuses to say.
  9. I would suck as a food blogger.  I do have some yummy recipes to post, but of course I have no pictures.  By the time I am done cooking, I am far too tired and hungry to whip out the camera.  Deal with it.
  10. If changing batteries didn’t require a screwdriver, more toys in my house would still work.  One set of batteries is the usual limit.  Not sure if that means I am thankful for screws or resentful of them.
  11. I may need tranquilizers to help my kids with their building/craft toys.
  12. He who shall remain nameless bought two GIANT nerf guns for my kids (5 and 2.5 years old).  Watching my son pelt him with foam bullets made my year.  It was also pretty great watching my daughter shoot this giant gun while wearing a princess dress.

Hope your holidays were half as good as ours were!

Leave a Reply

