I fear puberty

My daughter doesn’t talk as well as her older brother did when he was her age, so we made arrangements to have her evaluated.  The case manager is coming on Wednesday.

But now, she has me wondering, is she truly behind or just kind of bitchy?

She always gets her point across, but uses a combination of made-up words and multi-purpose words.  For example:

  • If my daughter were to say “Danny, that’s my chair”, she would say something like “Nya-nya boy, that’s me down.”
  • If she wants you to pick her up, she says “Me down.”
  • If she’s done eating, she says “All down.”

In her world, “down” is the ultimate word.  It means up, down, chair and done.

She also rarely calls anyone by their actual names.  As mentioned above, Danny is “Nya-nya boy”, her friends Charley and Ava at school are respectively “Baby” and “Sheisha”.

When you ask her what her name is, she emphatically replies “Baby” over and over again.

But today, Charley came over for a play date.  Instead of calling her “Baby” like she always does, she called her Charley.  When I asked Charley what Samantha’s name was Charley answered correctly, as I had hoped.  I thought she might provide a good example for Samantha, so I asked Samantha what her name was and she said “Amantha” without a moment’s hesitation.  I was thrilled!  She had finally learned how to answer the question people have been asking her for the past year and a half.

After Charley left, I was eager to show her daddy her new trick, so I said “Watch this (full of pride)…Samantha’s what’s your name?”  “Grampa” with devilish grin.  “No, Samantha, what’s YOUR name?”  “Gramma” with a giggle this time.  “SA-MANTH-A, what’s your name?”  “Mamma” with full-out laughter.

To make a long story short, I hate her and my husband and I are planning to escape the second she starts menstruating.

Leave a Reply

