Making Cheesecake-filled Strawberries with a toddler “helper”

Tomorrow is Danny’s birthday party and this kid loves strawberries and cheese, so Samantha and I set out to make these Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries from Nutmeg Nanny:

I cut and pasted the below recipe.  My comments/narration are in italics.

Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries:

1 pound large strawberries (mine were less than large)

8oz. block cream cheese – soft

3 – 4 tablespoons powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Graham cracker crumbs (I used a bag of those Scooby Doo Graham Cracker sticks that look like dog biscuits.  I smashed them up with a potato masher while Samantha grabbed at the bag, yelling “NO, my kwakas!!”, but I managed to shake her off)

Instructions:

  • Rinse strawberries and cut around the top of the strawberry.  Remove the top and clean out inside with a paring knife if necessary.  If you want to stand your strawberries upright slice a bit off the bottom. One strawberries are prepped set aside.  (Samantha helped me by making sure that no strawberry innards went to waste.  That kid also loves her some strawberries.)
  • Combine cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla with a mixer or by hand.
  • Add cream cheese mix to piping bag and fill strawberries. (I used a sandwich bag with the end cut off, because I am not fancy enough to own piping bags.  While I was doing this part, Samantha helped out by turning me in circles and running through my legs and yelling to surprise me from the other side….so they look kind of crappy.)
  • Once strawberries are filled dip the top in graham cracker crumbs.  (I sprinkled the crumbs on top, because dipping was more than I could handle with the aforementioned toddler running between my legs screaming “MY kwakas!”)

Then I proceeded to suck the leftover filling out of the hole in the sandwich bag, which was mighty attractive, but I can now tell you with authority, that these guys may look crappy, but they are sure to taste delicious!

One response

Leave a Reply

